TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING



Board of Commissioners Tuesday, November 01, 2022 at 10:30 AM 505 District Drive Monroe, LA

MINUTES

In compliance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations / during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

Call to Order

Mr. Rodney Hutchins, Vice President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

PRESENT

Commissioner Mike Calloway Commissioner Johnny Turner Commissioner Ashley Peters Commissioner Antwain Downs Vice President Rodney Hutchins Commissioner Dick Zeagler

Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell

ABSENT

Commissioner Dustin Morris President Drew Keahey Commissioner Kenneth Wilson Commissioner Michelle Collum

Others in attendance were: Mr. Max Tullos, Corp of Engineer; Mr. Michael Street, Attorney, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Executive Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Matt Varnell, Administrative Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Operations Superintendent, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Jason McMillin, Police Captain, Tensas Basin Levee Police.

Prayer

Vice President Rodney Hutchins opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Public Comment on Agenda Items

Action

Motion made by Commissioner Downs, Seconded by Commissioner Turner and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after Vice President Rodney Hutchins called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of October 11, 2022 is hereby dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The News Star.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Rodney Hutchins Vice President

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, Seconded by Commissioner Downs and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after Vice President Rodney Hutchins called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve all bills approved by the claims committee for October 2022.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Rodney Hutchins Vice President Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, Seconded by Commissioner Zeagler and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after Vice President Rodney Hutchins called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize Mr. Drew Keahey, President to sign the engineering and inspections services contract with Volkert Inc.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Rodney Hutchins Vice President

Requests

Motion made by Commissioner Harwell, Seconded by Commissioner Peters and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after Vice President Rodney Hutchins called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize the transfer of a campsite #WBS-7 from Charles Beaubouef to Kacy Ryan Anthony.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Rodney Hutchins Vice President

Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, Seconded by Commissioner Peters and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after Vice President Rodney Hutchins called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize the transfer of a campsite #WBS-8 from Logan H Lofton to Steven Pittman.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Rodney Hutchins Vice President

Motion made by Commissioner Harwell, Seconded by Commissioner Zeagler and passed unanimously, to enter into Executive Session to discuss Legal matters.

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, Seconded by Commissioner Turner and passed unanimously, to enter back into Regular Session.

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, Seconded by Commissioner Turner and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after Vice President Rodney Hutchins called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize the termination of the operation agreement with the Town of Columbia and the resumption of operations and maintenance responsibilities in accordance with USACE operations and maintenance manual for the Town of Columbia in regards to the Columbia Pump Station.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Rodney Hutchins Vice President

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, Seconded by Commissioner Downs and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after Vice President Rodney Hutchins called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize the termination of the operation agreement with the Town of Jonesville and the resumption of operations and maintenance responsibilities in accordance with USACE operations and maintenance manual for the Town of Jonesville in regards to the Jonesville Pump Station.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Rodney Hutchins Vice President

Presentations

Items for Discussion

Update on Levee Projects

Brandon Waggoner gave levee project updates.

Financial Statements

Public Comment

Commissioner Calloway asked about the status of the new facility.

Brandon Waggoner gave an update of time line for the construction of the new facility.

Rodney Hutchins reminded there will be no meeting in the month of December. Next meeting will be January 10,2023.

Adjourn